Granola bars

food-005 

Breakfast doesn’t exactly make the meal plan, but we do think about it. Sometimes it’s just fruit, sometimes I’ll make muffins, sometimes there’s nothing at all. S eats while driving, so hand-held-edness is important to him. I take so much food to work for lunch, compact-ness is important to me. I’ve tried granola before, with some success, but it doesn’t work well for S. This time I went one step further and made granola bars. Both recipes are from Better Homes  Garden (my go-to book for baking … and everything else) and follow after the jump with a few changes made by yours truly.

Granola
 
2 c rolled oats
1/2 c flaked coconut
1/2 c nuts (almond, peanut); coarsely chopped
1/2 c shelled sunflower seeds
1/4 c sesame seed
1/2 c honey
1/3 c cooking oil
 
300 degrees
 
Combine oats, coconut, nuts, and seeds. Combine honey and oil. Stir into oat mixture. Spread onto a greased cookie sheet. Bake 20 minutes. Stir, then bake another 10-15 minutes.
 
Remove from oven and cool on foil. Store 2 weeks (or longer in freezer).

 

For bars:

325 degrees

Mix 1 c granola with 1 c oats, 1 c nuts, 1/2 c flour, 1/2 c raisins (or other dried fruit). Stir in an egg, 1/3 c honey, 1/3 c oil, 1/4 packed brown sugar, and 1/2 tsp cinnamon. Press into a foiled and greased 8x8x2 pan, and bake for 30-35 minutes. Cool on a wire rack and remove foil. Cut into bars.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Granola bars

  1. mom

    Anya-This takes me way back before kids when I made granola all the time – I’ll try this bar recipe – might be a good alternative to the nutrition bars I see
    love mom

  2. anyazs

    If you still have any recipes from your granola-making days, I’d really like to see them! The bars were chewy and very filling. If you try them, let me know how yours turn out.

  3. Pingback: Granola « Les Ardoises

  4. Pingback: Recipe: olive oil granola | Les Ardoises

Leave a Reply

