Potato Kale Casserole

Why: Kale is just showing up at the farmers market and I haven’t done this favorite recipe in a long time.

Complications: I couldn’t find the recipe! I don’t know if I never wrote it down, or if it just disappeared. This is another Inge recipe, so she very nicely sent it again. When I finally read it through, I realized that I probably never did write down the recipe, because what I do is pretty different. Also, I had forgotten that a lot of the deliciousness come from a large amount of swiss cheese, which would have to be eliminated if S was going to eat it.

Verdict: Tasty. Even without the cheese it was very good. I used light cream istead of milk since there was a lot hanging out in the fridge. I also used more than usual, to compensate for the lack of cheese. The cooked cream looked a little funny (congealed a little), but the taste was good.

0072

Keep reading for my version of the recipe…

Potato Kale Casserole

Big bunch of kale; washed, de-stemmed, chopped in big chunks (prob 5 cups or so?)
1 large shallot (or garlic)
Nutmeg; fresh ground, just a few grates
1 tsp red pepper flakes
3 large potatoes; sliced very thinly
2 tb butter; cut into smaller pieces
½ c milk or cream

In a large skillet (I filled our new 14″ pan), sauté shallot and still-wet kale until it turns bright green and cooks down a little bit. I don’t use any oil, and this works for me. If necessary, sprinkle some water to the pan to steam/sauté the kale. When kale is cooked, add in nutmeg, red pepper flakes, and lots of salt and pepper. Give it a stir and let cool a little. If there’s a lot of water in the pan, dump it. The original recipe says to squeeze out the water from the kale, but I don’t think that necessary. Just make sure it’s not sopping wet.

Generously butter a casserole dish (I used a 2 qt oval Pyrex dish). Place a single layer of potatoes, overlapping a little. Add half of the kale (some more salt & pepper), then shingle another layer of potatoes. Press down, and then repeat the layers and press down again. (If using cheese, layer it after the kale, and leave a little for the top. In total, use about a cup/cup and a half of swiss cheese.) On top, evenly distribute the butter chunks, and s&p again. Pour the milk over the top, and gently shake the pan so that it evenly distributes.

Bake at 425 for 45 minutes, or until the top is nicely browned and the potatoes are cooked through.

Potato Kale Casserole – Short Version

425 degrees

Steam: Kale
               Garlic
               R. pepper flakes
                Nutmeg

Butter casserole

Layer:   Potato
                Kale
                Potato
                Kale
                Potato
                Chunks of butter
                Milk 

Bake 45 minutes

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

