Daily Archives: June 10, 2009

5/9-6/9 Summary Report

019I’ve gotten so far behind with my meal result analysis! To get back on track, I’m posting this summary report so I can get on with my life! I’ve compiled my memory of the last 31 dinners. The micro data is posted after the jump. Here are some observations from my study:

* My recall is surprisingly good! I have no idea what I ate for only 3 nights over the past month (we had the pictured buckwheat pancakes with blackberries one of those nights… I just can’t remember which). The menus were essential, of course. I’m also surprised how well we’ve stuck to the menu (only 16% unplanned). I’m not sure S could say with certainty what he ate while I was in San Diego, but overall this has been very successful meal planning in uncertain times.

* For someone who fashions herself a homebody-never-eat-out-type, we eat out a lot! Only 55% percent of our last 31 diners were eaten at home with the two of us present. I would have guessed an eat-at-home rate more like 80%. Caveat: this time period covers an unusual amount of travel. I’d like to see some stats from a more representative month.

* I always thought I skewed negative in my result analysis, but only 13% of my reviewed meals had a pejorative rating (“Bad” or “Horrible!”). Caveat: As much as I tried to evaluate each dish, this kind of retroactive analysis alters the perspective. Without the falafel disaster of ’09 (compared to which anything would be considered good), would the lukewarm “Ok” ratings stand?

Continue reading

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized