Apple Crisp

009We went apple picking the other weekend and I wanted to make a pie, but when it came down to it I couldn’t bring myself to make the crust. Besides, I remembered again that we don’t have a pie plate. Well, who needs a pie when crisps are even more delicious?

I started with the Better Homes & Garden fruit crisp recipe and changed this and that to make it a little more healthy. We ended up eating it for breakfast. Jump through for the recipe.

Apple Crisp

5 c apples; peeled and sliced medium/thin
1 tb granulated sugar
1/2 c oats
1/2 c brown sugar
1/4 c whole wheat flour
1/4 c wheat germ
(dash of cinnamon and/or nutmeg – I forgot this, but it would’ve been so good!)
2 tb cold butter
1/3 c chopped walnuts

Butter a 2-quart dish, and mix in apples and sugar. In a small bowl, mix together (spices,) oats, flour, germ, and brown sugar. Cut in butter (I smoosh it between my palms while rubbing my hands together) until an even crumb forms. Mix in nuts. Sprinkle evenly over the apples. Bake at 375 for 30 minutes.

Nutritional info for 6 servings:
BHG recipe: 360 cal, 13 g fat
This recipe (according to NutritionData.com): 293 cal, 7 g fat

That fat reduction is because I used half as much butter as BHG called for.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Apple Crisp

  1. Oh, I like apple crisp so much better than apple pie. I’m just not a fan of regular pastry!

  2. I totally concur! Crisp has to be one of my favorite desserts. My mom used to call her’s apple betty. Mom, if you’re out there, do you remember why?

  3. Ellen

    mmm apple picking. I want to go apple picking! I wish i had time to go apple picking,…or pumpkin picking, or sleeping in or breathing..

  4. la pauvre! if it makes you feel any better, it wasn’t that much fun… super crowded, long lines, and the apples were way overpriced.

Leave a Reply

