Recipe: olive oil granola

I’ve been making granola for a some time. The recipe I normally use is from Better Homes and Garden, and while it’s a fine base, I needed a change.

At Wegmans, I used to buy an upstate New York granola that was so delicious – but I can’t find it now. I remember it had these wonderful clusters – almost flour-based instead of oat-based. Maybe remembering this was what prompted my search for a new recipe.

In my search, I stumbled on a New York Times recipe via the Kitchn for olive oil granola. Compared to my normal recipe, it has 50% more seeds and 100% more nuts. It also uses maple syrup, which I refuse to do (way too expensive). I did add in some cinnamon and cardamom seeds (I don’t have it ground).

It certainly doesn’t produce the kind of granola I remember from Wegmans, but the result is a nice change of pace. The sugar, salt, and spices definitely creates a more layered taste, and I like the extra nuts and cooking time.

Here is my version of the recipe:

Olive Oil Granola
3 c rolled oats
1 c seeds (I used sunflower with a touch of flax)
1 1/2 c pecans broken up
3/4 c honey
1/2 c olive oil
1/4 c brown sugar
1/2 ts salt
Sprinkle of cinnamon
4 cardamom seeds

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a mixing bowl, whisk the oil and honey. Add the rest of the ingredients and stir very well. Spread onto the sheet.

Bake for 40 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes. Be sure to stir up the oats on the very bottom so they don’t brown too much.

Remove from oven and let cool on the sheet until completely cold. Break up and mix in 1 c of dried cherries.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

