Notre Ardoise: March 12, 2011

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Notre Ardoise: March 12, 2011

  1. Evelyn

    best cb&c recipe is the one in Barbara Kafka’s “The Art of Roasting”. Follow it, but substitute a bottle or two of Irish red ale for part of the fluid. Finish with Gooseberry Fool, so simple any fool could make it (canned gooseberries & whipped cream). Make the Irish Soda Bread a day ahead. I use the Fanny Farmer Baking Book recipe. Actually I kind of modified it, but hers is good.

    • I’m starting with a Cooks Illustrated recipe (the meat is corning away as we speak!) but I’m going to slow cook it. I like the idea to add some good beer to it, instead of using just water.

  2. Evelyn

    It’s the snap peas that make it fabulous. We have a great butcher who corn all their own beef. I selected a 6 1/2 lb brisket. Usually I go with the eye of round.

Leave a Reply

