Some unexpected free time

Right now I should be getting ready for a wedding. A very good friend was supposed to get married today. In Delaware. Near the beach. Clearly that wasn’t going to happen, so the rehearsal lunch yesterday turned into a wedding reception, and the wedding rehearsal was the real thing. Everything came together at the last minute and it was a beautiful afternoon.

Afterwords, S and I heeded the evacuation orders and went straight home. Since I’m homebound, I thought now would be a good time to share some recent food pictures.

From early in the summer, here’s some grilled pak choi. This preparation was suggested by the farm. S whipped up a Chinese BBQ sauce for a glaze.

 As the summer progressed, we ate more cold dinners. I also started reading Choosing Raw, so many of my dinners were raw and vegan inspired if not techincally either. Here is a panzanella, kale salad, and zucchini roles with a tabouleh.

I had a panzanella salad at Rustico happy hour and did a good job (if I do say so myself) recreating it at home.

We’ve had this kale salad so many times this summer. I can’t wait until kale is actually in season again so we can have it even more. It’s a very hearty and delicious salad.

 Although I had the idea for zucchini rolls from Gena, I filled them with an almond and carrot spread from Ani Phyo.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Some unexpected free time

  1. Evelyn

    would very much like the kale salad recipe. looks fabulous.

  2. Evelyn

    Took me a moment to wrap my dinosaur brain around the link, but ta da! iT worked. Here’s the kale recipe I came up with yesterday (not vegan): cook some fingerling potatoes in (chicken) broth, and then, using a largish skillet, take a little of it to wilt de-stemmed, chopped kale in. Arrange the potatoes in a single layer on top of the kale, top with grated gruyere and some herbed bread crumbs, and briefly broil. Serve with wild caught salmon and the wine of your choice.

Leave a Reply

